SWAN Patron, Engr. Musa Nimrod, Kaduna Chapter.

Tracereporters –In “recognition of their contribution to sports development, infrastructural and human development, Sports Legendary Awards has selected some well-meaning Nigerians for awards this year.


Explaining the motive behind the awards, the President of the organization, Solomon Omonokhua said, ”the saying that every good turn deserves another ,” is why these individuals have been specially selected for the awards because of their immersed contributions to the development of their societies and the country at large.


According to him,” we all know the importance of sports in our country. Government alone cannot do everything and these individuals have ensured in their own little ways that sports continue to bring glory to the country.”


“Sports will discourage criminality and take our esteemed youths out of harms-way. It is like creating jobs for our youths.”


The likes of Ahmed Musa of the Super Eagles, he said, became a house-hold name because of his exploits in football and he was discovered by someone who saw his potentials.


Sports, Omonokhua stressed has brought fame to the country, “we have three or four U-17 trophies in treasure box, three African Cup of Nations trophies, our girls Tobi Amusan has the world fastest time in 110 metres Hurdles (World Record), the Onyalis and Falilats have all put the country in the map of world great sportsmen and women. Our girls at the just concluded Women’s World Cup did well.”


Some selected awardees for the event billed to hold on September 23, 2023 at Hotel 17 (Seventeen), Kaduna include, Sen. Kashim Shettima (Vice President of Nigeria), Aisha Falode, President Nigeria Women Football League, Ahmed Musa, Former Captain of the Super Eagles and Hon. Ekene Adams, House Committee Chairman on Sports, Federal House of Representatives.


Others are Hon. Tajudeen Abass, Speaker, House of Representatives, Engr. Musa Nimrod, President Nigeria Volleyball Federation, Hon. Gbenga Elegbeleye and Sen. Uba Sani, Governor of Kaduna State amongst others.


Omonokhua stated that the awards organization started in 2014 and Mohammed Babangida was among the first recipient.

Leave a Reply